Memories Past and Future

It appears that I am rather awful at remembering to make time to write on my blog. It’s a good thing that I don’t fantasize about becoming a widely followed and popular blogger who is sponsored. Haha, that dream would probably never come ture, but hey, that’s really okay with me… Last I wrote, I was filling out new hire paperwork and thinking about all the changes and choices I would be facing. So, let me give you a quick update!

September 23rd I started my first, full time teaching position. It’s not exactly what I had been educated in or what I had anticipated teaching… I guess you could say it’s been a lesson in adaptation and trial and error. It has definitely been a growing opportunity and an adventure. I’m teaching…

theatre-sign-from-english-baby

Theatre vs. Theater – Theatre is the performance aspect where Theater is the physical building… Mhmmm yeah… so interesting, I know…

Now, these are some of the questions that come up when I tell people that I’m teaching Theatre…

  1. Oh, so you must love acting?
    1. Uhm, I guess so…but –shrug– not really?
  2. Did you do drama in high school?
    1. headshake- Nope…
  3. Did you study drama in college?
    1. headshake- Nope…
  4. Have you been in a lot of plays?
    1. headshake- Nope…
  5. Do you have any experience with drama?
    1. -headshake- Not really, I was in a play when I was in 3rd grade, I was friends with people who were in drama when I was in high school, I took a few classes in college that were focused more on performance (Shakespeare and Bible as Lit), and recently I was in a “skit” for a church thing… But I love watching plays and musicals…
  6. So…how?
    1. Just what they offered me…and drama is covered by an English teaching credential… The teacher who held the position before me was also in a similar boat.

But, the truth is… I kind of love it. It’s probably one of the jobs I will look back on and think, “That was really fun.” Don’t get me wrong, it is also extremely challenging. For example, I am the Theatre department. Haha, yeah… I am the Theater/Theatre Director, I teach 6 classes of Theatre, 4 Intro classes, 1 Theatre 2 class, and an Advanced Theatre class. And among those classes, I am participating in IB and AP… I’m also the Drama Club adviser. I also get to run the after school program, which consists of putting on 2 productions each year, a Fall play and a Spring musical.

20141010_194335

I’m teaching at a high school; I went to the homecoming game. We won!

20140924_072200

I have A LOT of keys…. Some of them I don’t know how to use…

20140924_072141

My classroom…back looking to the front….

20140924_072122

My classroom from the front looking to the back…the giant grey thing is the air conditioning…

20140924_071636

A view of the stage….

20140924_071625

A view of the “house” where the audience sits…

I wanted to get my feet wet, I wanted my students to really get the most out of being in Theatre, and I wanted to make sure that the transition was smooth. I decided to go ahead and produce a play this Fall, despite not knowing exactly how that works. I was so grateful to have such an amazing predecessor, who gave me so much help with curriculum and even stuck around to show me how to run auditions. {In case anyone is wondering, snacks are a vital part of the audition process…} We produced The Crucible. It’s about the Salem Witch Trials essentially…if you haven’t seen it…I don’t know what to tell you. I’m not sure I’d recommend watching it. The movie is….-shrug– not that great, though it did help with some creative ideas…

20141202_164709 20141202_172043

I had a lot of fun and anxiety with this first production. I learned a lot, which was really the point. And while we had a lot of fun with this production, my kiddos are looking forward to the musical. I decided on Into the Woods. Most of the kids seems pretty excited and the more we talk about it, the more excited they get. They have even started planning the set! And really, the set was what gave me the most headaches. Scheduling was often a NIGHTMARE; between sports, other clubs, and academics (and probably a few other things I’m forgetting – OH! Doctor’s appointments…) it was sometimes hard to get a full cast together. And I think we had like 5 people drop out throughout the course of the play… Yeah, that was fun….

Anyway, we made it through it. I learned a lot about the traditions of this particular program that I think I will keep. And we’re going to hit the ground, mostly, running when we get back. Which reminds me of about 70 things I need to do in order to be ready…. haha – oy….

I don’t believe in coincidences. I really don’t. I believe that everything happens for a reason and that God is ever aware of the things we need and what others need. He knows what we’re capable of and I have a firm testimony that I am meant to be where I am right now for reasons that aren’t entirely clear to me right now. And I know that things happened the way they did so that I would be ready to take this opportunity on fully committed to doing the task at hand.


Other, perhaps random, things that have been going on….

  • I went to Arizona for Thanksgiving…
  • My students are both surprised and excited to discover that I can sing and play the piano….They want me to be in the musical, as in they want me to have a part….
  • I have had to take a involuntary break from crossfit because… I may or may not have a stress fracture in my clavicle. They’re really not sure what’s going on with it yet….
MRIsegment01

My MRI for my shoulder…

  • So in the mean time I have a 24 Hour Fitness membership (yay) so I can run after work in a relatively safe environment…

    Dec2014Gym02

    Shameless and obligatory gym-bathroom-mirror-selfie

  • I got an annual pass to Disneyland!
    Which helped me really get into the Christmas spirit….after I had already done this…

    Dec2014TreeSquat

    Yeah, I’m banned from crossfit, but I’m not going to quit completely….

  • 20141222_195347
    Beyond excited!
  • I played Santa’s Helper this year and got to assemble a train set by myself… Yes, it functioned properly…
    20141225_065308

    20141225_120822

    This transforms into a car….

    20141225_121004

    This is the car…

  • I got some really neat Christmas presents…

    Dec2014SundayXmas

    This is probably my favorite gift….(the necklace…)

All in all, I guess 2014 has been an okay year. Nothing fantabulous has happened I guess. Israel was the highlight and getting a job was an amazing blessing. I didn’t “graduate” from anything. Many of my friends are reaching other milestones that I have yet to reach, but I think I’m okay with where I am right now. Friends have come and gone, so have love interests. And yet, I remain hopeful. I’m kinda feeling like a mix of the following songs…

  1. Dear No One – Tori Kelly  (lyrics)
  2. It’s Not Right For Your – The Script (lyrics)
  3. Style – Taylor Swift  (lyrics) the video is not the same version as is on the album….
  4. Kiss Me – Ed Sheeran (lyrics)
  5. Demons – Boyce Avenue cover (lyrics)

As 2015 approaches I can’t help but feel excited, nervous, and hopeful for the adventures that I will encounter. I hope that most of them will be fond memories and yet I know there will likely be some heartaches as well.

“Oh, if life were made of moments,
Even now and then a bad one-!
But if life were only moments,
Then you’d never know you had one.”
– Baker’s Wife

“Best to take the moment present
As a present for the moment.”
– Cinderella’s Prince

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

