Adventure Awaits!

First, a rather short story – given the name of my blog it’s about time I add another “ginger thing.”

Person: You should date [him] because he’s a ginger and so are you.
Me: (gasp) We must be soul mates!

Okay, not entirely. I wouldn’t say no to a date with this guy…

{WAIT!}

haha...

haha…

 

Still subbing. I finally did a stint (two now, actually) at the elementary school level. I have now done kindergarten and 4th grade as a sub. Those kids are adorable, but they are definitely a handful. I’ve been back at the school where I was long term subbing quite a few times and it has been fun to see students in other classrooms. I wonder if I will ever get used to having people call me by my last name. You would think that I’d be used to it by now, but sometimes it still feels weird. Haha, and it’s always a little strange to play it off when I hear my first name used in reference to a student.

Sometimes kids use “misses” instead of “miss” and, of course, I say something like this…. *shrug*

 

A few things to mention that I am excited about!

 I found this uh-MAZE-ing peanut butter at a local “organic food” store and they also had “paleo” chocolate chips {girlish squeal} So now I can eat chocolate chips and feel less guilty! Haha…and they had really good coconut ice cream. They also had some gelato that I want to try, so…stay tuned for a review on that.

Peanut butter and chocolate....

Peanut butter and chocolate….

 

I also learned to make these yummy NUTELLA muffins.

nutella muffin

Next weekend I will be competing in my first CrossFit competition. It’s an interbox friendly competition down in Fontana, CA. Teams of four, three work outs, and I’m really excited! We’re in the scaled division and a good place to start for my first competition I think. We’ve done a few practice rounds and we seem to work pretty well together as a team. I may have overworked my shoulder a little bit though, so I’ve been taking a few days off so that it will ready for next week. I’m sure there will be lots of pictures.

This is where we are competing on Saturday.

A few updates on my lifting…haha I can now deadlift 315lbs and backsquat 195lbs. Sadly, I don’t have pictures of this yet… I will try to rectify that soon.

About a year ago, I think, my mom asked me if I would want to go to Israel with her if some of her siblings decided to go on a tour. I’m not stupid, so of course I said yes. This little trip never really came about and then a few months ago, my mom asked again. I said no. Just kidding. Eager as ever, I told my mom I would love to go.

Israel

Naturally, my mom, 3 of her siblings and their spouses would need a chaperone – someone to keep them out of trouble. And of course the only person for the job was me. Right? Of course right! (And now I’m thinking about Fiddler on the Roof….)

Yente!

Anyway, my mom and I have been slowly preparing for this trip; we’ve been looking at clothing, emergency items we might need or want, CrossFit locations on the off chance that we can stop in for tshirts. I mean, it would be awesome if we could actually work out, but I’m not sure I want to pack an extra pair of shoes just in case, and I’m not sure if I want to wear my CF shoes as my day to days… I guess I could, they were amazing when I was in San Fran. Anyway…We will be leaving in just a few weeks. We fly from California to Utah and then the following day we fly from  Utah to Paris. We have an hour lay over and then we fly into Amman, Jordan. I’m really excited about this.

“I’m leaving, on a jet plane…”

I asked my mom if she was nervous about our trip. She said no citing her trip to China as the reason for her lack of concern. Personally, I think Israel is a bit…different from China. How many times has Israel been attacked in the last century? How many times has China been attacked in the last century. Call me crazy, but I think Israel is potentially “scarier.”

I am a nervous traveler anyway. I mean, I get nervous making short trips because I always end up feeling like I’m forgetting something. I remember when I got on the plane to go to Italy for study abroad. I felt panicked and a bit irrational. I almost talked myself out of going. Haha, I can only imagine how unhappy the other passengers would have been considering our flight had already been delayed by an hour. Looking back, I can hardly believe that I considered abandoning the trip. I find myself feeling the same way now. Rather, I feel a bit anxious and find myself having doubts. Each time these feelings surface I remind myself that this is likely to be a once in a lifetime experience and I would likely regret not going if I were to bail. Besides, I want to get a CF shirt from Tel Aviv. Haha…

CrossFit Tel Aviv


Rough Jordan and Israel Itinerary

Day 1 and 2: arriving in Amman, Jordan and such
Day 3:  Amman/Bethabara
Day 4:  Madaba/Mount Nebo/PETRA!
Day 5: Petra/Eilat, Israel
Day 6: Eilat/Masada/Jericho
Day 7: Jericho/Ein Harod/Beth Shean/Nazareth/Galilee
Day 8: (This is a Saturday, so it will be Shabbot and we will go to church in Galilee) Galilee/Mount Tabor/ Synagogue/ Mount of Beatitudes
Day 9: Megiddo/Arbel/Mount of Beatitudes/Tiberias
Day 10: Galilee/ Capernaum/ Tel Dan/ Banias/ Golan Heights (Uhm, a boat ride across the Sea of Galilee
Day 11: Galilee/ Mount Carmel/ Caesarea/Jaffa/Jerusalem
Day 12: Rabbinic Tunnel/ New City Jerusalem/BETHLEHEM
Day 13: Old City Jerusalem
Day 14: Jerusalem – Saviors Last 24 Hours
Day 15: Continue the Last 24 Hours, church at the Jerusalem Center and traveling to Tel Aviv
AND FINALLY Day 16: Flying home from Tel Aviv

Leave a Reply

