Oh…Rest Day!

So, I’ve decided on Wednesday and Sunday as rest days. Today is, dun dun dun duh! Wednesday!

Last night my mom sent me a text that made me so so happy.

new ingredients!

new ingredients!

I have been wanting to try baking with different kinds of flour after reading a book called Wheat Belly. William Davis, MD specializes in preventative health care from what I remember. Basically, wheat has been modified so much that it no longer has all the same properties it did when mankind started eating it years and years ago. He recommends trying different types of flour (almond, peanut, coconut, etc) in order to have bread-like foods without the less than pleasant affects that wheat flour tends to have on our bodies, from bloat to blood sugar spikes. So, my mom brought home: coconut flour, almond meal, and milled flax seed.

I had some left over pumpkin from my curry Monday night and so I decided I should use that up. I went back to paleOMG for another recipe. I found a recipe for pumpkin chocolate chip muffins. I used that recipe to start, but I replaced the maple syrup with honey and some maple extract and the chocolate chips because I haven’t gone to find those yet. I also left out the cloves because of personal preference (1. I’m not a huge fan. 2. They had to be ground and I only had whole cloves… *cough*lazy*cough* ) I also added in some unsweetened, shredded coconut and I shredded 2 baby zucchinis.

pumpkin chocolate chip muffins with shredded coconut and shredded zucchini

pumpkin chocolate chip muffins with shredded coconut and shredded zucchini

I’m rather proud of the way they turned out. The tops look a little burnt, but they actually don’t taste burnt. The inside is just right… They were great warm so hopefully when they cool down they’ll still be yummy.

Yesterday, after the team WOD

[super fun, just sayin’ | Team of 3 (Myself, Chirs, and Chris) 4 rounds: 25 HSPH, 25 Power Snatch, 25 Pull Ups, 1000 meter row. Our team got 3 rounds and 473 meters.]

I stayed after and watched the next on ramp class and played around with double unders and then I did something I didn’t think I’d ever WANT to do. I have been wondering if I could do a 24″ box jump. I have been feeling pretty confident with my 20″ so I decided that I might as well try it while there were only a few people in the gym and I didn’t have to do a whole WOD with them, right? So…got the box. Tried a few 20″ then turned the box, chickened out, turned back to 20″ and did a few more, then I turned it to 24″ and said to myself, “If you fall, you fall. SUCK IT UP BUTTERCUP!” I didn’t fall, I didn’t even almost fall. I landed solidly on the box. It was more of a mental victory than a physical one….but I’ll take it!

While staying late was actually pretty fun, I realized that I need a crossfit playlist. So in addition to my  baking this morning I was music hunting. Here are some songs that I found/will be adding for working out:

  • Bangarang (Jacked Remix 124 BPM)
  • Play Hard (R3loaded Jacked Remix 140 BPM)
  • Rockin’ n’ Rollin’ (Jacked Remix 138 BPM)  This is probably my favorite…
  • Collard Greens (feat. Kendrick Lamar) – SchoolBoy Q  Coach Kat played this last night…
  • Country Folks (feat. Colt Ford & Danny Boone)  Bubba Sparxxx, making a country comeback?
  • Ride – Timeflies
  • Counting Stars – OneRepublic
  • Bezerk – Eminem
  • Beast – V.I.C.

I think that’s all for now…. Time to stretch, roll out, and then get ready for work.

Leave a Reply

