Finding Peace and Patience…

I have been meaning to blog for awhile and things just seem to get in the way. I’m sure I could have tried harder to make time. But I get that weird writer’s block every time I log in. Why is that? I can instagram like nobody’s business, but when it comes to recording real thoughts and events I’ve felt like a mute. I think partly it is because of the highs and lows from the last several weeks. It’s hard to believe some of it and thinking about it now brings back some sad and poignant memories.

Starting from the last post, I did in fact start and finish my “on ramp” {introduction to the basic movements} classes for CrossFit.  The on ramp classes were pretty brutal, but I loved how strong and happy I felt after each work out. This was especially true after working out with other people. Promptly after finishing (and feeling spectacular), I got a cold from one of my most favorite little people. This cold lasted about two weeks and made me feel purty awful.

4 new members of the SHIELD family

4 new members of the SHIELD family

A few days after finishing on ramp, I found out that one of my cousins (mother’s side) passed away and plans were made to be at the funeral the next weekend. The funeral was very touching. It was amazing to see how many people came to remember my cousin Jonathan. He had so many talents and he was a very special person. We had the opportunity to listen to one of the apostles, Elder Russell M. Nelson, at the end of the service. He had very comforting words to share and the other speakers did a fine job paying tribute to Jon and reminding us that through the power of the atonement we will get to see Jon again.

musician, family, world traveler, an amazing guy

musician, family, world traveler, an amazing guy

While visiting for the funeral, I got to visit with old and new friends. I met up with a few of my roomies and had some AMAZING pizza in Salt Lake City. If you’re ever there, go to The Pie. Another stop was a waffle place across from Pioneer Park called Bruges. It was weird to eat so much fat-tastic food when I’ve been trying to be really good about what I eat. haha, I spent some time being sick during my trip. Just sayin… We also went to Farr’s which has amazing ice cream. Think Baskin Robins with the 31 flavors, but way better.

pizza at the pie | waffles at bruges | farr's ice cream | salt lake city temple

pizza at the pie | waffles at bruges | farr’s ice cream | salt lake city temple

When I got home, I was right back in the box! The first work out was hard, duh, but it felt great to be back at it. It was the return to normalcy that I needed. I’ve been going regularly ever since, striving for at least 3 days, but so far I’ve made it 3 days that first week, 5 days the following week and this week probably 5 days again.  According to the scale I have lost 13lbs since December ’12 and I have lost 12 inches total since July ’13. Most of it seems to be on my arms. I’m totally okay with that, by the way.

“relief society jiggle”

eat.your.heart.out

Left Feb ’13 | Right Sept ’13

dilligaf

yup

I should probably add that on Sep 30th I did a 1 rep max of 125 lbs. Today I was able to do that same weight 3 times. So..yeah. It’s working. haha

On October 4th, I went to and participated in Barbells for Boobs Seal Beach. This is a fundraiser that moves around and raises money for screenings for those who can’t afford to get them otherwise. You do a work out called “Grace.” Which is 30 clean and jerks for time. The Rx weight was 95 lbs for women. I did 55lbs and finished in 3:31. And I made a shirt for the event as well! SHIELD had ordered special editions of the box shirts, but I was out of town and didn’t order one. So, like I said, I made my own.

top: me clean and jerking 55lbs | bottom left: members of the SHIELD family | bottom right: CrossFit Seal Beach shirt

top: me clean and jerking 55lbs | bottom left: members of the SHIELD family | bottom right: CrossFit Seal Beach shirt

Teaching… haha oh man…. I am teaching grades 4-7 in Alhambra, 3 days a week, for 2.5 hours MWF. I teach grades 5-7 2 days a week for 2 hours TTh. These kids crack me up, drive me nuts, and remind me why I wanted to teach older kids; however, I still want to teach. I’m grateful for the opportunity I have to gain more experience and still work on my personal goals. My students also think that it’s time I get married. After all “don’t people get married at like 24?” Haha….oh dear…

my students have a strange fascination with pigs....

my students have a strange fascination with pigs….

My mom started the on ramp classes. It’s been interesting to listen to her talk about the stuff that I do. And last night we watched some of the CrossFit Games Women’s events. haha… We both agree that pistols look awful…

I’ve been thinking a lot about life and recently I was asked to prepare a talk on patience. More specifically, about when we should be patient and when we should be more decisive. If you know me in real life you know that I’m not very good at being patient outside of my classroom. As a teacher, I think I’m very patient. As a person, with my friends, I’d say I’m a bit above average. When it comes to waiting for “life to happen” and things I really want? I’m awful. I want things to happen smoothly and quickly. Especially, if I’ve already made up my mind about what I want.  A lot of different things have happened in the last several weeks. Some things that made me incredibly happy and hopeful. Others things broke my heart a little bit, but also woke me up to reality.

Sometimes in life we are not meant to be the one driving. I have seen “Student Driver” cars and big rigs (yeah…go figure) a lot lately. In my own experience as a student driver, I can’t recall if there was a set of pedals on my instructors side, but I have seen movies or TV shows where there are. I think that life is sometimes like learning to drive in one of those cars with the second pair of pedals and a steering wheel. There are times when our Father in Heaven allows us to control how fast we go, when we stop, and where we go. There are other times when He takes the wheel from our hands and directs us where He most needs us. We can struggle to push the gas and steer in whatever direction we want, but ultimately His set of breaks overrides our gas pedal and He will patiently wait with foot on the break until we begin to accept His directions. He won’t force us, but He will prevent us from straying too far from where He wants us to be if we truly want to have Him in our lives. He requires us to be patient because He is patient with us. With this patience and acceptance, we can often find peace from our heartbreak.

In the LDS (Latter-day Saint aka Mormon) community, we recently had a semi-annual conference in which the prophet, several apostles, and various administrators in the church organization spoke to us. Many of the talks I was able to hear were about love, repentance, and moving forward with our hearts and minds firmly planted in gospel principles. Having faith in His plan. Acknowledging His love and His law. And allows others the same opportunities for forgiveness and joy that enrich our own lives.

If you’re not Mormon and  you want to know more, go listen. If you are a member and you’re struggling, go listen. If you are a member and you’re not struggling, go listen. But here are some “highlights.”

President Uchtdorf

President Packer – Key to Spiritual Protection

Elder Holland – Like a Broken Vessel

President Monson – True Shepherds

Until next time…whenever that is… haha….

Leave a Reply

