For The Love of Writing…

Haha, ya know… I love writing. I honestly do. If you asked me why I decided to go into English as my major, I don’t think I would say it I wouldn’t say it was because I love reading. I mean, I do love reading books. I was an avid reader growing up. I loved to do the library reading program every summer to get prizes and then when I got my driver’s license I would sometimes go to the library on the weekend and spend a hours looking for books that sparked my interest, but I wanted them to be long and I wanted them to have an interesting story, ideas that I hadn’t read before. Yes, magic, vampires, shape-shifters, and all that were quite exciting to my adolescent appetite, but nothing is quite as amazing as when someone takes one of those ideas and puts a new spin on them. I’m sure our dear Harry Potter was not the first wizard who attended a special school to hone his craft, but his story is unique nonetheless.

Back to my point, I love writing because of the ability it gives me to express myself. Writing and art are the only outlets where I have found the ability to put my feelings down in a way where I can think about what it is I’ve done, felt, thought, seen, or wanted – I can edit the words or change the lines and really make it “right.” Speaking doesn’t give you that chance. Once a thing is said, you can’t truly “edit” it. It’s out there. It has a sound, an attitude, a tone, a message, a sub-message, and emotions that you can’t change. Writing also provides room to think about what I’m really concerned about. It’s not just this thing. It’s that this thing has these other parts that make it scary or frustrating. And when I write about those  other parts I sometimes find the solution to the problem. Sometimes. Other times, it just opens that retaining wall and the full power of the emotions I am feeling come out. That too can be cathartic.

I don’t know why I started a blog. I don’t have many followers. I don’t get many comments. I’m okay with that, to be honest. I guess, now-a-days, it’s the thing to do. Friends and family can follow your blog and you can share recipes or your talents with anyone in the world. I don’t know how many blogs I’ve discovered and thought about following because of Pinterest (which also another great -albeit dangerous- tool). But I don’t think my blog has much of a purpose. I hesitate to give it one mostly because my life seems to always be in flux and when it starts to move in a new direction, the purpose follows suit. Sometimes, it is a place to express myself, sometimes it is a place to share something I’ve discovered or an adventure I’ve had, and mostly it is a place where I write. Because, I love writing. I love the clickety-clack of the keys when I type – and I type purty fast.

SO what is my purpose today? 3 things.

1. My new theme song (at least for today and possibly this week):

I don’t feel like there is anyone who has actually been holding me down, except for myself.  *awkward laughter* The lyrics are cheezy, but I totes love’em, obvi.

2. I made fajitas and they were bomb. I’d never done fajitas like this before. I wanted to buy, cut, cook it all myself. I was cooking this for a large group, so there is a lot more here than I would have made if I were just cooking for my mom and I. So here it is:

In total, I think I had about 4lbs of boneless, skinless chicken breast; cut into strips.
Marinaded that for about 45 mins in about 4 tblspoons of lime juice, 3.5 tblspoons olive oil, with cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, and oregano. I forgot to add salt and pepper, but it didn’t seem to be a problem…

I couldn't smell it...but Mom said it smelled good.

About half the chicken….

 

2 red onions
4 bell peppers – 1 red, 1 yellow, 1 orange, and 1 green (is pretty, no?)

The more colorful, the healthier... I heard that somewhere...

Bell peppers and onions after sauteing for a few mins…

Once it was all cooked I put it together and poured the juice on top of it and let it sit overnight.

Mmmmmmmm....

Looks so yummy!

And of course I had to make sure it tasted good….so I put some on top of some salad. haha…it was a goood dinner.

I didn't die!

Taste test!

 

3. I’m planning to start CrossFit tomorrow. ViSalus was okay, but I want something a little more proactive. So, wish me luck! In a few weeks months I’ll be a much leaner, but hopefully not meaner, machine.

Happy Labor Day!

One thought on “For The Love of Writing…

Leave a Reply

