Alright, Alright! I Get It…

Things I’m grateful for this week:

  1. I am grateful for the means to take care of myself.
  2. I am grateful for the resources to exercise regularly.
  3. I am grateful for friends who really want to be my friend.
  4. I am grateful for a (fairly) nice car.
  5. I am grateful for the ability to learn to cook. I already know how to cook some things, but I am enjoying learning to cook new things.

Yesterday I learned to make a new kind of mac’n’cheese and today I learned to make Mexican Lasagna. I think I’ll post pictures later. But these recipes were fairly simple an they’re supposed to be pretty low cal. The shake deal has been pretty easy so far. I tried to make some fancy/yummy ones, but I think I might start doing mostly plain shakes from now on. I think adding the spinach was a good idea though, so I’ll likely keep doing that. Or I’ll just add some milled flax seed to the shakes. We’ll see…

Have you ever had one of those moments where you hear something from a wiser source and you feel strangely good because you had thought about and come to the same conclusion as them, but also guilty because you had already come to that conclusion and sorta…forgot? Not forgot that you had come to that same conclusion exactly, but you had forgotten to really take it into consideration as you continued about your business? A few days ago, I read something and thought about how interesting the idea was. That it is not enough to simply ask the Lord for some blessing, we must also take action so that we are doing our part. We have to prepare and make sure we are ready for the thing we are asking for. I have come to the conclusion that sometimes you might be ready but there is still preparation that needs to be done on the part of someone else and so things must take a new direction. Today I heard a lot about agency and action. Agency is the ability to choose, but it is not simply the ability to choose between good and evil. There is an expectation that we will make good choices. And along with agency there is action, that is we must act on those things that we use our agency to decide on. I heard a lot of great things today at church and many of them seem to have been repeated over the course of this week. So I think I’m starting to get the hint now. Hopefully this peace lasts a while.

I have been thinking about where I want to move after I graduate. I need to figure out where I want to work and live. One of my brothers is trying to convince me to move to Texas. I think I will focus on clearing my credential first and then think about moving to a new state. There was a time when I was willing to forgo that clearance process, but now that there is no pressure to relocate for the benefit of someone else, I’m not sure it would be in my best interest to move just yet. Although I think I read somewhere that some districts in Texas are teaching their teachers to use and carry guns. That could be interesting.

I’m starting to get a little nervous about this upcoming week…. Well, let’s be honest, this up coming semester. I think 2013 is going to be a very strange year. Hopefully it will be filled with opportunities to learn and grow, to succeed, and to have amazing adventures. I am already trying to make plans for Spring Break and the summer. I have felt like I need to take advantage and be grateful for the time I have been given to focus on and pursue an education. I feel like I need to “stop, and stand still” (D&C 5:34) while I focus on that until things begin to fall into place again instead of rushing around looking for answers in everything I read, hear, see, or feel. I just need to have faith that whatever is in the works will unfold with perfect timing. Life can be incredibly confusing and frustrating; but those are the times that I find I grow and learn the most. So, even though I can’t control those who contribute to my frustration or my pain, I can control the things I do in response to it. As Elder Suarez encouraged today, I’m going to make good choices and try to think the best of people despite their actions.

Leave a Reply

