Agenda

I have a bit of a religious agenda today. I have been trying really hard to do better about reading or at least listening to scriptures everyday. I even try to listen to or read a conference talk as well.  It has been a good goal for me and it has been a tender mercy as well. Or at least has upped my ability to see the tender mercies in my life.  I don’t normally go to the scriptures for comfort because…I’m not really sure why. Haha, I just…don’t.

But yesterday I needed to go to the ceramics lab to get my little lantern mostly finished and so I decided not to go to home evening because it started at 7 and that’s what time the last class in the lab ended. So I had about a half hour or so to relax before I went in. I decided to enjoy the beautiful weather (sunshine about 60 degrees if not more, ugh it. was. great.) and sit on my porch swing. (I keep thinking about the memories on that swing haha and I’m a little sad that it won’t be mine pretty soon. I mean, I have NO way of getting it to California.)

I felt like I was wasting time, which is usually something I’m okay with but I decided I should do something productive. I pulled out my iPad and I started to read my scriptures. Mosiah 24: 14-15. I mean I read the whole chapter, but this was…oh so sweet to read.  All day, I had been feeling anxious about something I said to a friend. I was feeling anxiety about a lot of things aside from that – school, grad school, interviews, work, uhm….life? I guess. Anyway, I’ve come to some pretty astounding self discoveries lately and so this section really gave me some peace.

14 And I will also ease the aburdens which are put upon your shoulders, that even you cannot feel them upon your backs, even while you are in bondage; and this will I do that ye may stand as bwitnesses for me hereafter, and that ye may know of a surety that I, the Lord God, do visit my people in their cafflictions.

15 And now it came to pass that the burdens which were laid upon Alma and his brethren were made light; yea, the Lord did astrengthen them that they could bear up their bburdens with ease, and they did submit cheerfully and with cpatience to all the will of the Lord.

It occurred to me that He is aware of me and the burdens He allows to come in my life and moreover He is aware that I need His help to get through them but I must ask for that help and then choose to “submit cheerfully and with patience to all the will of the Lord.”  I then had part of my patriarchal blessing come to mind and so I went and read that. It’s kinda funny how things just click like that sometimes.

Another scripture that I have been trying to keep in mind through my daily life is Isaiah 51:3 (which is actually the same as 2 Nephi 8:3).

3 For the Lord shall acomfort bZion: he will comfort all her waste places; and he will make her wilderness like cEden, and her desert like the dgarden of the Lord; joy and gladness shall be found therein, thanksgiving, and the voice of melody.

I really love that and I hope that I can live with that mind frame – “thanksgiving and the voice of melody.”

Anyway, I feel good today. Happy even. Still a bit anxious because I do have a lot to do this week before I go home (again) on Thursday. But I know I’ll find time to do the important things.

Leave a Reply

