Craftiness and Cooking

So I have to first and foremost apologize for my crappy pictures. And by crappy I also mean, the lack of. I did in fact do 2 things on my “to do” list for the summer over the weekend. On Saturday I woke up around 10am and commenced painting. Painting what you might ask? Rocks. Rather, I was painting rocks to look like owls….and then making them into magnets… Don’t ask me how magnets work, okay? They just do…

whoo?

Sunday is cooking day; I was going to do every Sunday…but I have a feeling that would get really expensive….so I think I’ll try a new recipe once a month. Maybe more frequently, but for now once a month.  So, I decided to make the crispy chicken and bow tie pasta with Italian herb and cheese pasta sauce. My roomie made some carrots  that weren’t too bad. I’m not a huge fan of cooked carrots, but these were pretty good.  And for dessert we had “sopapilla cheesecake.” Basically, it was dough, sweetened and flavored cream cheese, covered by more dough, smothered in butter, and topped with cinnamon and sugar! Everything was super yummy.

There are a few things I would change the next time I make this. I’d probably add more chicken stock to the sauce. It was incredibly thick, but very yummy. I’d probably try a different flavor of cooking cream and I would also use rice instead of pasta. Probably a nice brown rice.  As for the chicken I would highly recommend beating the chicken breasts until they’re flattish. Otherwise it will take forever long to cook.

Here are the links for the 2 recipes I talked about:

http://jamiecooksitup.blogspot.com/2011/04/crispy-chicken-with-creamy-italian.html

http://myellowumbrella.blogspot.com/2010/10/sopapilla-cheesecake.html

Leave a Reply

