June 9, Musée Marmottan-Monet and Musée d’Orsay, and “Manet” exhibition

So this has been one of my favorite days. Here we went to the Marmottan-Monet and we looked at a lot of Monet’s work. We also got to see work by Berthe Marisot. She is a very talented artist and I really felt a connection to her work. She was a woman, a mother, a wife, and a painter. These are all things I want to be at some point, and I think it would be awesome if I could paint my children as they grow up. Haha, I guess we’ll see if that happens, it’ll be a few years off to be honest. One of my favorite paintings was one she painted of her husband and daughter playing in the park. It’s such a sweet moment and it really resonated with me. There was an exhibition there for the Dufy brothers. Their work was pretty awesome as well. They are less rural; they seem to focus on scenes in the city.

The d’Orsay museum has some pretty famous paintings as well, and they were having a special exhibition on Manet there when we went. So the permanent collection has some van Gogh, Renoir, 1 Marisot, Manet, Degas, Whistler, and several others that I can’t think of at the moment. But it was all very imoressive. I actually have come to love Impressionist art. I like the slightly sketchiness of it.

Leave a Reply

