8 Hours 40 mins

So, it is about 2:30 in the morning, if you couldn’t figure that our from the time stamp or maybe you didn’t believe the time stamp…I can hardly believe it myself.   After weeks, or maybe I should say days of trying to be “prepared” to go on this trip, I think I may be…”ready.” I am packed. I have my passport, my ticket info, my iPad with entertainment/social network/directions on it, I have my journals, I have my camera, I have chargers and adapters (converters? I’m not sure what I’m supposed to call them…) I have my dorky museum tour headset…I have…just about everything I can think of that I will (or might) need while I’m gone. I even packed some laundry detergent.  I am kinda hoping that they won’t think it’s drugs….haha that could be bad.

It was nice to be able to see some friends before I leave, played some volleyball, visited a bit, and I even got some goodbye texts/calls.  If you didn’t get to say goodbye with a hug or something similar, I will have my phone on me until I leave Chicago (around 4:20pm) but after that email, facebook, twitter, and this here blog are going to be the only ways people will be able to communicate with me. It’s way too expensive to use my phone in Europe and it might not even work anyway….it’ll be an interesting experience.

I think I’ve said this before, but I’m really looking forward to this experience. I am slightly worried/scared about the logistics of getting from my plane, through customs, and then onto a train to the apartment, but I’m also thinking this could hold potential for some good stories (and pictures, to document such stories). I think this trip is exactly what I need to be able to clear my mind, refresh my world views, find inspiration, and just really figure some things out.  I’m looking forward to reading a few books, looking at fabulous art, eating WONDERFUL food, seeing a play maybe, and becoming “cultured” or whatever.

Next time I post, I won’t be in Provo anymore…

Leave a Reply

