Experimenting with Food!

There are many pieces to CrossFit that I am still trying to work into my life. I’ve embraced being sweatier than I have ever been in my life and love seeing my shirt change colors. I am finding that I like to be in work out clothes more than anything else these days. And I keep trying to find “fun” work out clothes that I will look forward to putting on… But along with the attire, you need the proper shoes; they need to keep you as close to the ground as possible so that you can plant your heels and have have room to wiggle your toes so you can lift heavy stuff. {Yup, I said stuff.} My new shoes are on their way…

Nano 2.0 - Hazy Yellow/White/Shocking Sherbert/Black

The fun part of my work out!

Sometimes I like to have longer pants on so my shins aren’t munched on by the edge of a box after a poorly executed jump. { It hasn’t happened…yet. KNOCK ON WOOD! } Sometimes I like longer shorts or pants if we’re running. If I know there will be a lot of reaching I make sure to wear a long undershirt. { Partly out of modesty, but mostly because I’m embarrassed of what it looks like underneath my shirt… } The lingo is a little silly and sometimes I still have to stare at an acronym for a move in the next day’s WOD and think, What on EARTH is a HSPU?!  But I’m slowly and surely getting the hang of most of it and I’m starting to understand the jokes and culture as well.

But the one thing that is still really hard for me? Eating a more {strict} healthy diet. Food has always been one of those things that I have struggled with. I mean, I like things that taste yummy and I don’t always remember to stop putting yummy things in my mouth. Especially if the yummy thing is made with chocolate… *wiping the drool from my lip* So, little by little I’m taking steps to eat better. I try to eat smaller portions throughout the day, but I’m sure my nutrition is still a little off. BUT, yesterday I was trying to do some research about different proteins that are good for women {didn’t really follow through on that one…so if anyone knows….?} when I found a blog of a crossfit gal who also does paleo recipes! I saw a curry dish on her page and had to stop for awhile. I haven’t really looked at any of her other recipes, but the curry sounded divine.

pumpkin cashew coconut curry | coconut [cauliflower] rice


SO, the dish: Pumpkin Cashew Coconut Curry over Coconut [Cauliflower] Rice. I watched the video, pinned it to my yummy food pinterest board and have not. stopped. thinking. about. since. heehee… Basically, that means I went to Trader Joe’s after work to pick up the various coconut stuffs, cauliflower, pumpkin, and I added in some butternut squash, baby zucchini, and something called a delicata squash…

it has an edible rind!

delicata squash

I was lazy and bought pre-cubed butternut squash and just put the cubes and the cleaned out delicata squash on a piece of foil and then on a pan. I put some olive oil on them then added salt and paper. Popped them in the oven at 400 degrees F for about 20 minutes. I have to say, I was a little nervous to eat the rind, but it’s sooooo delicate { delicata, duh! } that trying to peel it off was silly. I tried it and even with just some salt and pepper it was pretty amazing. After they came out of the oven, I let them rest until I was ready to let the curry cook down; that’s about the time I added the zucchini as well. Anyway, this is what mine ended up looking like.

no cashews because they hate me

my version

This was pretty tasty. I have to say, if paleo can taste this good, then maybe I won’t fight it anymore… On the other hand…it was a LOT of work, but it also made a lot of left overs because my mom’s not a huge fan of cauliflower. { She did admit that the coconut was an interesting flavor with the cauliflower though… }

That’s all.

Leave a comment